h1

Party Pass Problems

September 23, 2009

You can make some of the people happy all of the time, and all of the people happy some of the time…but you can’t make all of the people happy all of the time. 

 

I was a party pass partygoer on Sunday in Cowboys Stadium.  Yes, I did have my issues.  For instance, using a borrowed GPS to navigate Dallas for the first time ever, it told me to take the Tollway.  Well, I’d heard about parking, and didn’t want to run out of cash to park.  So I took a nice short cut through the Airport to get to the stadium.  I blame Jerry, he should have painted yellow lines to the stadium throughout the Metroplex. 

 

Discover put a fraud alert on my card because I used it at a 7-11, rendering it useless to me at the stadium.  I blame Jerry for this as well, since he made that deal with Visa back in the 90s, I think it was Discover being punitive to the Cowboys. 

 

Alas, my parking fears were unrealized.  Fifteen bucks.  Was it a hike?  Yeah.  I was over by the Lexus Valet lot for the Rangers.  However, I still had time to walk to the stadium, wait in line to buy my merchandise, walk back to stash it, and walk back to the stadium.  I finally got into the stadium at about 5:30. 

 

I received an email last week that had the following details:

 

  • Some party pass areas of the stadium may fill to capacity. When that occurs, you will no longer be provided access to those specific areas. In such an instance, you may be asked to move to an area with available space (including the plazas). With that in mind, we have designed outdoor bars and very large video screens with live broadcasts of the game on the plazas just outside the party decks. 

 

So, after waiting in line for what had to be 5 mintues, I got in, and immediately was disappointed.  Jerry, you should have had a 60-yard screen in the end zones, too.  I figured if I was going to be distracted by a huge television, I was going to be distracted by THE huge television.  So, I moved.  

 The horrible sight-lines provided to me led to this obstructed view for the star unveiling and opening quarter of the game: 

0_IMAG0226

Then, after a few minutes more of rude ushers allowing me access to various concourses to take pictures, I was directed to the areas of the stadium where my party pass was designated for use. 

 Here’s another picture of where I watched the final 3 quarters of the game:

1_IMAG0239

 

Keep in mind, this is after watching the first quarter from mid-field.  Unacceptable. 

 

The usher there was completely power crazy.  At one point, he hit me.  Hit me square on the hand.  He did it to about 4 or 5 others that were in the area, too.  Just because the Cowboys scored didn’t give him the right to celebrate with us!  Jerry, why didn’t you hire the dudes with the furry hats from England to stand all stoic and silent?  Another egregious violation of my fan rights. 

 

So, at the end of the night, for almost 30 (THIRTY!) dollars, I was forced to watch the game from the end where the winning kick went through.  I had to see it happen from far too close of a vantage point. 

 

All in all, Jerry, you’re to blame.  Your ego obviously outweighs the stadium.

Leave a Reply

